No.2 Public Holidays | Meditur

Public Holidays

PUBLIC HOLIDAYS official holidays are;

01 January, New Year’s Day,
23 April, National Independence and Children’s Day,
19 May, Atatürk Commemoration and Youth and Sports Day,
30 August, Victory Day,
29 October, Republic Day.

In addition to the above there are two religious holidays that, being based on the Islamic calendar (Lunar calendar) vary in date each year. These are; “Seker Bayrami (3 Days) celebrating the end of the feast of Ramazan, and Kurban Bayramithe feast of the sacrifice  (4 Days). During these feasts all shops, banks and government offices are closed.

SHOPS of Turkey incredibly popular and they are open continuously from 09h00 -13h00 and 13h30-19h00 or 20h00 Mondays to Saturdays.

CLOSED Hagia Sophia Museum on Monday
Kariye (St. Savior in Chora) Museum on Wednesday
Topkapi Palace on Tuesday
Dolmabahçe Palace on Monday and Thursday
Grand Covered Bazaar on Sunday